

# 2024-25 Plan of Representation



North (60,223) South (65,344) School District Lines ----- County Lines 125,567 \* District Population

\*Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Fact Finder, American Community Survey Demographic & Housing Estimates, State of Wisconsin, 2022

# SOUTHWEST WISCONSIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE PLAN OF REPRESENTATION

# **BACKGROUND OF DISTRICT**

On July 31, 1965, the Wisconsin State Legislature passed Bill 501A which is now Chapter 292, Laws of 2965. This law provided that all areas of the State of Wisconsin would be in vocational, technical, and adult education districts by July 1, 1970. Per the legislation, the Wisconsin Board of Vocational, Technical, and Adult Education and the Coordinating Council for Higher Education designated the establishment of sixteen comprehensive VTAE districts to encompass the total geographical area of the State of Wisconsin.

The Southwest Wisconsin Vocational, Technical, and Adult Education District was created on July 1, 1967. It is composed of 30 school districts operating public schools located primarily in the following five counties in Southwest Wisconsin: Crawford, Grant, lowa, Lafayette, and Richland. Portions of Dane, Green, Sauk, and Vernon counties are also included in the District. The District encompasses approximately 3,800 square miles. The District Office is located in Fennimore, Wisconsin.

On April 21, 1994, Governor Thompson signed a bill to change the name of the system to the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) and each of the sixteen districts is now known as a Technical College District. As a result of this bill, the official title of this district is now the Southwest Wisconsin Technical College District.

# SOUTHWEST WISCONSIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT POPULATION ESTIMATES

	Population Estimate	Male	Female							
Southwest Wisconsin	123,045	63,182	59,863							
Technical College										
District										
Percent Distribution		51.3%	48.7							

#### \*Estimated Distribution of Males and Females

\*Source: 2023 WTCS District Population Estimates

	WTCS	Estimated						Black or	American							Minority Pop as a
	District	2023						African	Indian and				Two or	Hispanic	Minority	% of District
County	Code	Population	Female	% Female	Male	% Male	White	American	Alaska native	Asian	Hawaiian	Other	More	or Latino	Population	Population
CRAWFORD COUNTY	SWTC	14,905	7,135	47.9%	7,770	52.1%	13,716	278	31	24	12	44	526	274		
DANE COUNTY	SWTC	104	52	49.9%	52	50.1%	76	5	0	6	0	2	7	7		
GRANT COUNTY	SWTC	51,236	24,603	48.0%	26,633	52.0%	47,687	892	56	464	2	179	940	1,016		
GREEN COUNTY	SWTC	1,204	597	49.6%	607	50.4%	1,104	7	1	3	0	10	38	41		
IOWA COUNTY	SWTC	20,162	9,931	49.3%	10,231	50.7%	18,623	168	24	156	0	111	652	428		
LAFAYETTE COUNTY	SWTC	16,598	8,120	48.9%	8,478	51.1%	15,038	79	31	109	0	114	499	727		
RICHLAND COUNTY	SWTC	15,704	7,877	50.2%	7,826	49.8%	14,302	113	13	144	0	359	339	435		
SAUK COUNTY	SWTC	1,097	547	49.9%	550	50.1%	943	9	9	5	0	18	50	63		
VERNON COUNTY	SWTC	2,034	1,000	49.2%	1,034	50.8%	1,907	4	2	5	1	13	67	35		
	SWTC	123,045	59,863	48.7%	63,182	51.3%	113,396	1,557	167	916	15	851	3,118	3,026	9,648	7.8%

# \*2023 Estimate Population by Race and Ethnicity

\*Source: 2023 WTCS District Population Estimates

# **BOARD COMPOSITION**

Per Wisconsin Statutes, a Technical College District Board shall be composed of nine members who are residents of the district, including two employers, two employees, three additional members, a school district administrator as defined in s.115.001(8), Stats., and one elected official who holds a state or local office as defined in s5.02, except for the office of party committeeman or party committeewoman. The SWTC District currently has a north/south plan of representation specifying one Employer Member, one Employee Member, and One Additional Member from both the north and south areas; and three floating positions – School District Administrator, Elected Official, and one Additional Member, with a minimum of four members representing each area each year.

# **BOARD APPOINTMENT**

The appointment of Technical College District Board members shall be made by an appointing authority consistent with Statute 38.10. The appointing authority for the Southwest Wisconsin Technical College District is the group of school board presidents within the 30 school districts operating public schools within the technical college district.

In the appointment process, equal consideration is given to the general population distribution within the district, as well as to the distribution of women and minorities with a minimum of three female members, three male members, and one minority member. (For the 2<sup>nd</sup> year in a row, the population estimates provided by the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), indicate that Southwest Tech has met the benchmark of 6.5% minority population in its district requiring its District Board to include one minority member. See previous page for detail.)

#### APPORTIONMENT NORTH/SOUTH PLAN – APPROVED

**North**: Barneveld, Boscobel, Dodgeville, Highland, Iowa-Grant, Ithaca, Kickapoo, North Crawford, Prairie du Chien, Richland, Riverdale, Seneca, Wauzeka-Steuben, and Weston

**South**: Argyle, Belmont, Benton, Blackhawk, Cassville, Cuba City, Darlington, Fennimore, Lancaster, Mineral Point, Pecatonica, Platteville, Potosi, River Ridge, Shullsburg, and Southwestern

The Plan of Representation and the Apportionment in effect for 2023-24 was approved at the Appointment Committee's meeting on March 2, 2023.

The 2024-25 Plan of Representation and the Apportionment was reviewed and approved by the Board Appointment Committee on March 7, 2024.