

Dr. Jason S. Wood, President

DRAFT – 2025-26 Plan of Representation



North (59,991)

South (65,483)

----- County Lines

125,474 * District Population

*Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Fact Finder, American Community Survey Demographic & Housing Estimates, State of Wisconsin, 2023

SOUTHWEST WISCONSIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE PLAN OF REPRESENTATION

BACKGROUND OF DISTRICT

On July 31, 1965, the Wisconsin State Legislature passed Bill 501A which is now Chapter 292, Laws of 2965. This law provided that all areas of the State of Wisconsin would be in vocational, technical, and adult education districts by July 1, 1970. Per the legislation, the Wisconsin Board of Vocational, Technical, and Adult Education and the Coordinating Council for Higher Education designated the establishment of sixteen comprehensive VTAE districts to encompass the total geographical area of the State of Wisconsin.

The Southwest Wisconsin Vocational, Technical, and Adult Education District was created on July 1, 1967. It comprises 30 school districts operating public schools located primarily in the following five counties in Southwest Wisconsin: Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Lafayette, and Richland. Portions of Dane, Green, Sauk, and Vernon counties are also included in the District. The District encompasses approximately 3,800 square miles. The District Office is in Fennimore, Wisconsin.

On April 21, 1994, Governor Thompson signed a bill to change the name of the system to the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), and each of the sixteen districts is now known as a Technical College District. As a result of this bill, the official title of this district is now the Southwest Wisconsin Technical College District.

SOUTHWEST WISCONSIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT POPULATION ESTIMATES

*Estimated Distribution of Males and Females

	Population Estimate	Male	Female
Southwest Wisconsin	124,056	63,333	60,423
Technical College			
District			
Percent Distribution		51.3%	48.7

*Source: 2024 WTCS District Population Estimates

*2024 Estimate Population by Race and Ethnicity

	WTCS	Estimated						Black or	American Indian and							Minority Pop as a % of
	District	2024		%				African	Alaska				Two or	Hispanic	Minority	District
County	Code	Population	Female	Female	Male	% Male	White	American	native	Asian	Hawaiian	Other	More	or Latino	Population	Population
CRAWFORD COUNTY	SWTC	14,909	7,233	48.5%	7,677	51.5%	13,663	215	36	75	19	58	559	285		
DANE COUNTY	SWTC	105	52	50.0%	52	50.0%	75	5	0	6	0	2	8	8		
GRANT COUNTY	SWTC	51,699	24,901	48.2%	26,798	51.8%	47,414	938	67	432	3	339	1,232	1,274		
GREEN COUNTY	SWTC	1,245	616	49.5%	629	50.5%	1,120	9	1	7	0	13	45	51		
IOWA COUNTY	SWTC	20,325	9,957	49.0%	10,368	51.0%	18,533	171	21	171	0	160	823	445		
LAFAYETTE COUNTY	SWTC	16,668	8,127	48.8%	8,541	51.2%	14,487	95	26	119	0	121	741	1,079		
RICHLAND COUNTY	SWTC	15,771	7,887	50.0%	7,884	50.0%	14,234	137	9	157	0	349	390	494		
SAUK COUNTY	SWTC	1,126	561	49.8%	565	50.2%	930	10	8	5	0	33	67	72		
VERNON COUNTY	SWTC	2,208	1,088	49.3%	1,120	50.7%	2,062	7	1	6	0	17	79	37		
	SWTC	124,056	60,423	48.7%	63,633	51.3%	112,518	1,589	170	980	22	1,091	3,943	3,745	11,539	9.3%

*Source: 2024 WTCS District Population Estimates

BOARD COMPOSITION

Per Wisconsin Statutes, a Technical College District Board shall be composed of nine members who are residents of the district, including two employers, two employees, three additional members, a school district administrator as defined in s.115.001(8), Stats., and one elected official who holds a state or local office as defined in s5.02, except for the office of party committeeman or party committeewoman. The SWTC District currently has a north/south plan of representation specifying one Employer Member, one Employee Member, and One Additional Member from both the north and south areas; and three floating positions – School District Administrator, Elected Official, and one Additional Member, with a minimum of four members representing each area each year.

BOARD APPOINTMENT

The appointment of Technical College District Board members shall be made by an appointing authority consistent with Statute 38.10. The appointing authority for the Southwest Wisconsin Technical College District is the group of school board presidents within the 30 school districts operating public schools within the technical college district.

In the appointment process, equal consideration is given to the general population distribution within the district, as well as to the distribution of women and minorities with a minimum of three female members, three male members, and one minority member. For the 3rd year, the population estimates provided by the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), indicate that Southwest Tech has met the benchmark of 6.5% minority population in its district requiring its District Board to include one minority member. See the previous page for details.

APPORTIONMENT NORTH/SOUTH PLAN

North: Barneveld, Boscobel, Dodgeville, Highland, Iowa-Grant, Ithaca, Kickapoo, North Crawford, Prairie du Chien, Richland, Riverdale, Seneca, Wauzeka-Steuben, and Weston

South: Argyle, Belmont, Benton, Blackhawk, Cassville, Cuba City, Darlington, Fennimore, Lancaster, Mineral Point, Pecatonica, Platteville, Potosi, River Ridge, Shullsburg, and Southwestern

The Plan of Representation and the Apportionment in effect for 2024-25 was approved at the Appointment Committee's meeting on March 7, 2024.

This draft of the 2025-26 Plan of Representation and the Apportionment will be brought to the Board Appointment Committee for approval on Thursday, March 6, 2025.