Southwest Wisconsin Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (, a institutional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. Southwest Tech has been accredited since 1976. In 2002, Southwest Tech was accepted as an AQIP institution, and in June, 2017 became a member of the Standard Pathway.

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604

Higher Learning Commission and Standard Pathway

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions of higher education in the United States. Institutions the Commission accredits are evaluated against the Commission’s Criteria for Accreditation, a set of standards institutions must meet to receive and/or maintain accredited status.

Southwest Wisconsin Technical College follows a 10-year cycle the Higher Learning Commission refers to as the Standard Pathway. During years 4 and 10 of the Standard Pathway, the Commission conducts a comprehensive evaluation and site visit.

More information on the Higher Learning Commission or the Standard Pathway can be found at

Program Accreditations and Licensure

Several of Southwest Tech's occupational programs are accredited by a professional entity, approved by a State agency, or are designed to lead to a license required for employment in the occupation. We have compiled the Program Accreditation and Licensure which lists the programs along with the professional accreditations related to their occupational area.