Important Information about GED/HSED Testing

The GED assessment continues to provide students the opportunity to earn a high school credential, but goes further by measuring career- and college-readiness skills that are the focus of today's curriculum and tomorrow's success.

The GED® Test Specifications

  • Tests are administered in English and Spanish
  • Students can test three times on the same subject without waiting. After the third attempt, there is a 60-day waiting period before trying again.
  • Tests are delivered on computer (not online). Paper testing only available as an accommodation.

The GED® Test consists of four content areas:

  • Reasoning through Language Arts (RLA) (150 minutes)
  • Mathematical Reasoning (115 minutes)
  • Science (90 minutes)
  • Social Studies (90 minutes)

Tests consist of 7 different item types:

  • Extended response
  • Hot spot
  • Drag-and-drop
  • Multiple choice
  • Drop-down
  • Short answer
  • Fill-in-the-blank

To learn more about the test, visit the GED Testing Service website.