7 Easy Steps to get your Driver's License

The mission of driver education in Wisconsin high schools is to provide students with the skills to drive safely. Driver and safety education is based on the belief that this is a critical lifelong skill affecting the conservation and quality of human health and life. In order to accomplish its mission, driver and safety education programs focus on providing learning opportunities for the development of the skills, knowledge, and thought processes necessary to become a safe and efficient driver, and a responsible user of the Highway Transportation System (HTS).

Southwest Tech's Driver Education Program will prepare students with at least minimal capabilities for entry into the highway traffic system as vehicle operators, equip students with the knowledge and thought processes to enable them to make wise decisions as drivers and help students acquire the insight and motivation needed to become responsible users of the Highway Transportation System.

Southwest Tech offers both traditional and online driver education to students within our district and throughout the state, as well as behind-the-wheel instruction for our district high schools.

If you are unable to access documents here, please contact Public Safety (publicsafety@swtc.edu, 608.822.2700)
  • Driver Ed Theory
  • Registering for driver education classes at your high school

    You must be 15 years of age or older and enrolled as a student or live within the district of this high school if home-schooled.

    Parents of home-schooled students, please contact your district high school for confirmation of class dates and times, and any cancellations or schedule changes.

  • Online Option
  • Registering for online driver education

    The online driver education course is for WISCONSIN RESIDENTS ONLY, was approved by the State of Wisconsin in 2004 and is offered throughout the year on Schoology, a password-protected Course Management System.

    Registration is available anytime during the offered semester to students 15 years of age and older.

    NOTE: The Online Driver Education course is located on Southwest Tech's Schoology site. Instructions for accessing Schoology will be sent via email once the registration is complete.

  • Behind-the-Wheel
  • Registering for behind-the-wheel instruction

    Students will receive their permit application from their instructor after registration and payment of behind-the-wheel fees. Students should register for the course offered at the high school they attend or district they currently reside if home-schooled.

  • For Adults (over 18)
  • Registering for ADULT behind-the-wheel instruction

    You must be over the age of 18 and live within the Southwest Tech district high schools we service.

  • High School Instructors
  • Contact Information for High School Instructors

    The following is a contact list for some of the high school drivers education instructors within our district.

    Unless otherwise noted, all instructors instruct students in the classroom as well as behind the wheel.
    BTW - Instructor for Behind The Wheel only
    CRI - Instructor for Classroom only

    Select Your High School



George Andrews

George Andrews

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.412.2211
gandrews@swtc.edu

Clem Gillitzer

Clem Gillitzer

Driver Education Instructor - CRI
608.797.7519
cgillitzer@swtc.edu

Molly Bowden

Molly Bowden

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.778.5526
mbowden@swtc.edu

John Moran

John Moran

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.391.1280
jmoran@swtc.edu

Andrew Riechers

Andrew Riechers

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.331.7543
ariechers@swtc.edu

Bob Summers

Bob Summers

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.744.2629
bsummers@swtc.edu@swtc.edu

Clem Gillitzer

Clem Gillitzer

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.797.7519
cgillitzer@swtc.edu

Cory Bussan

Cory Bussan

Driver Education Instructor - CRI
608.822.3494
cbussan@swtc.edu

John Moran

John Moran

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.391.1280
jmoran@swtc.edu

Dan Smith

Dan Smith

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.778.3347
dsmith@swtc.edu

Bucky Boland

Bucky Boland

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.341.7890
bboland@swtc.edu

Duane Leeser

Duane Leeser

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.723.6556
dleeser@swtc.edu

Quinn Schultz

Quinn Schultz

Driver Education Instructor - CRI
608.553.0482
qschultz@swtc.edu

Brian Reuter

Brian Reuter

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.732.3425
breuter@swtc.edu

Mary Ann Shurson

Mary Ann Shurson

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.778.3659
mshurson@swtc.edu

Dan Smith

Dan Smith

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.778.3347
dsmith@swtc.edu

Brian Reuter

Brian Reuter

Driver Education Instructor - CRI
608.732.3425
breuter@swtc.edu

Mike Uppena

Mike Uppena

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.732.8594
muppena@swtc.edu

Andrew Riechers

Andrew Riechers

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.331.7543
ariechers@swtc.edu

Thomas Koeller

Thomas Koeller

Driver Education Instructor - CRI and BTW
608.854.2261 ext. 233
tkoeller@swtc.edu

Molly Bowden

Molly Bowden

Driver Education Instructor - BTW
608.778.5526
mbowden@swtc.edu

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Parent's Handbook Icon

Parent's Handbook

WI Motorist's Handbook Icon

Wisconsin Motorists' Handbook

Driver's Education Website Icon

Driver Education Website