Nursing Assistant

Nursing Assistants play an important role in basic patient/resident care activities in hospitals, nursing homes, and other health care settings, including home health care. The Nursing Assistant course meets state and federal requirements for training and testing, and is open to individuals 16 years of age or older. The course also serves as one prerequisite for individuals applying for the Nursing – Associate Degree program.

The Southwest Tech Nursing Assistant Program is approved by the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services, preparing the student to be successful in meeting state and federally regulated competencies as a nursing assistant. The graduating student is eligible to take the National Nurse Aid Assessment Program Exam, which includes both a written and skills exam.

This course is not eligible for financial aid.

Upcoming Nursing Assistant Courses

Dates/Times Format Clinicals
April 15 - June 14, 2019
Orientation: Monday, April 15 from 4-6 PM at SWTC (Room 205)
Labs: At SWTC on Monday, May 6, Monday, May 13 and Tuesday, May 14 from 4-9:30 PM
Theory Online Schmitt Woodland Hills, Richland Center, WI and Manor Care, Platteville, WI.
Dates & times TBD
May 6 - June 29, 2019
Orientation: Monday, May 6 from 2-4 PM at SWTC (Room 205)
Labs: At SWTC on Monday, June 10, Tuesday, June 11 and Wednesday, June 12 from 8 AM-1:30 PM
Theory Online Boscobel Care and Rehab
Dates & times TBD
June 3 - July 12, 2019
Orientation: TBD
Theory/Lab (June 3 - June 20) Monday - Thursday 7:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Face to Face Run from June 21 - July 12
Dates, times and locations will be determined first day of class
July 8 - August 12, 2019
Orientation: TBD
Theory/Lab (July 8 - July 25) Monday - Thursday 7:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Face to Face Run from July 26 - August 12
Dates, times and locations will be determined first day of class
August 12 - October 11, 2019
Orientation: Monday, August 12 from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. (room 205)
Labs: At SWTC on Thursday, September 5, Monday September 9, and Monday September 16 from 4-9:30 p.m.
Theory Online Locations TBD
Dates & times TBD
September 23 - November 22, 2019
Orientation: TBD
Lecture Monday and Tuesday 4:30 p.m. to 8:10 p.m. (Room 2635)
Lab: Wednesday or Thursday 4:30 - 7:15 p.m. (Room 2634)
Face to Face Locations TBD
Dates & times TBD
October 21 - December 20, 2019
Orientation: Monday, October 21 from 4-6 p.m. at SWTC (Room 205)
Labs: At SWTC on Monday, Nov 11, Tuesday, Nov 12, and Wednesday, Nov 13 from 4-9:30 p.m.
Theory Online Locations TBD
Dates & times TBD
November 18, 2019 - January 10, 2020
Orientation: Monday, November 18 from 4-6 p.m. at SWTC (Room 205)
Labs: At SWTC on Monday, Dec 16, Tuesday, Dec 17, and Wednesday, Dec 18 from 7:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Theory Online Locations TBD
Dates & times TBD